The Bedside Journal

Personal Blogs, photos, and other autobiographical Soul Stuff. Use the sidebar to navigate.

Updates

4/22/24 Mannn, its been a long time since my last update! I've been busy working on my first ever partial fursuit of my seal fursona, Cloudy! She's close to being done and I'm going to wear her to a y2k rave this weekend. I'm really excited! I've wanted to wear a fursuit since I was a kid in middle school- honestly I am kinda glad i waited to try to make one, though- materials are a lot easier to get now, and there are so many incredible tutorials!! I feel very lucky to live in a time with such great resources.

I used to cosplay a lot in my teens and early 20s, but eventually the scene became a little too high stress for me. I think furry stuff is fun because its people dressing as their orignal characters, and there is less of an overall focus on "accuracy" or your looks/body, at least in my experience so far. Once her OC page is up, I'll include some better photos of her, but for now, here's a couple mid-build shots! I hope everyone is doing well this spring. I'll be back to updating the site again soon! I have a few fun things planned for this year :3



Till next time!



2/4/24 February has been nice so far! I've been back on the neocities brain train lately, and I've also been going out a lot more since recovering from Covid. I've been hitting up more of LA's local museums and parks, to keep my mental health up, and playing more Pokemon Go as well! I've been really into collecting Vivillon, which requires having friends from a lot of different countries, and I want to send interesting postcards to them in-game, so it's been motivating to check out different areas all over town, ha ha.

I've also been continuing to collect pixels from all over the internet, and falling down wayback machine rabbit holes, and it's led me to... create a Gaia Online account for the first time *ever* in order to browse old forum threads. Somehow I avoided it as a kid? I'm not sure why, given all the other internet communities I was into. I don't think I'll play it much given its current state, but making my little avatar was pretty fun, ha ha.

Till next time!



1/17/24 Hi Neocities, it's been awhile!! The holidays were really fun this year, but pretty busy for me, followed by a good couple weeks of progress on job hunting + fursuit progress, which was all ground to a hault due to my partner and I finally catching covid for the first time ;n; We've been doing okay so far, and we both have paxlovid now which I think is also helping a lot, but man: this sucks, lol. Hope everyone else is doing okay out there and has been able to avoid it! I'm taking my time and resting a lot, and haven't had a ton of brain juice, but it's honestly been very soothing to browse peoples Neocities sites when I need something comforting to do. I'm so thankful to have found this creative space. Here's hoping my next update will come a bit sooner, ha ha- I found a HUGE trove of CDs at my parents house over Christmas, so I'd love to add a page here for those!
Till next time!



11/19/23 Fall's been a blur, man. I can't believe Thanksgiving is only a week away! October was pretty nice, largely because about half of it was taken up by a great trip to the East Coast to visit my partner's family and several friends. I'm hoping to make a whole photo page documenting the trip on here eventually, but for now, the biggest highlight is that my partner and I got engaged! We'd been talking about it a lot lately, and this visit to some beautiful New England woods in fall felt like the right setting to ask.
She also just got me my ring, which is gorgeous Alexandrite and rose gold, and I can't stop looking at it.


Till next time!



9/10/23 Lots has happened since I last updated! Firstly, I... got laid off, lol. I worked for a mobile game company for the past nine years, and a lot of us just got let go. It was a shock, though not totally unexpected, and I'm gonna be processing it for awhile. I'm okay, and I'm deeply grateful I have the resources to take a little break before trying to hustle into getting a new job. It's given me some time to slow down, work on other life admin stuff, and also work more on my websites! lol
In addition to that, it's my birthday in a couple days! So happy fall and Virgo season are finally here. It's still pretty warm in California, but it's looking like it will cool off soon. I'm hoping for some rainy weather before long. My girlfriend and I have a nice trip planned to the east coast to visit some friends and family- hoping I get a chance to see some beautiful fall foliage and drink some good hard cider while we're there. We'll also be celebrating our 3 year anniversary together, which is wild and so wonderful to think about.
Last but not least, I finally finished my pixel header!! It took me a couple months, but it was really fun. I will probably polish it up someday, but I'm trying to focus more on putting things up than making them perfect, or I'll end up with a bunch of half-finished projects lol. ADHD life... they are based on Art Deco Hotels in Miami, FL, which I guess I am obsessed with now? Truly food for my pastel-liking gay little heart, ha ha. Till next time!



8/14/23 Been working on links and about me stuff! Trying to decide whether I wanna start on Music or Art next; both are such big projects, ha ha. I am honestly really excited to start digging into the music tools I've seen on peoples sites... winamp recreations? Make me emotional??? lol. Figuring out how I want to organize everything is gonna be a fun challenge.

I've been doing a lotttt of exploring Neocities this month. There is SO much cool stuff on here, and it really nourishes my soul a lot to see people thriving on here while places like Twitter disintegrate. I've spent so long feeling so burnt out online, so having it be a source of joy and community again is... fully incredible. Looking forward to continuing to build my little space and see what else people have to share!
Till next time!



8/8/23 Setting up a little changelog/diary/whatev! Eventually I'll make this fancier and put it in a scrollbox, but for now, this is good enough. That's the attitude I'm trying to have with all of this stuff- the past decade or so online has been so overloaded with creative comparison, it made creating anything for fun so hard for me. Now, my attitude is: let's just throw stuff together, little by little, and have the fun of looking at it when its done. It's never been a competition, regardless of what capitalism would have us believe, ha ha.

Working hard on my banner, site button, and some clique pixels. Pixel art is so fun? Little digital crossstitch! I should have started with something simpler than what I've ended up building, but c'est la vie. Everyone's art has been *so* inspiring, I'm mostly just excited by the challenge.

I've also been having a lot of fun on Grundo's Cafe this week! It's such an improvement on original Neopets, I can't believe it. I've already been able to paint three pets, and save over 500k Neopoints, just by playing basic dailies. Little Kid me would be blown away!


Look at THESE KIDDOS. I love Tuskaninnies so much, I wish they were more popular. ;u; I got FutureBass from the shelter! Lucky me.
Till next time!